The New 50-euro Banknote Was Launched

The new €50 was introduced in the 19 countries of the euro area on 4 April 2017. It is the fourth banknote in the Europa series and is now circulating alongside the new €5, €10 and €20.

The new banknotes are called the Europa series because two of their security features contain a portrait of Europa – a figure from Greek mythology and the origin of the name of our continent. The new €50 bill is more more secure and easier to check by feeling, looking and tilting.

The European Central Bank (ECB) has decided to permanently stop producing the €500 euro banknote and to exclude it from the Europa series. The other denominations remain unchanged: €5, €10, €20, €50, €100 and €200.

To find out more about the new €50 and its security features, visit the Our Money website here: